

AGENDA ORDER PAPER

CANTERBURY CIVIL DEFENCE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT GROUP JOINT COMMITTEE

Friday, 9 December 2016 commencing at 11.00 a.m.

Environment Canterbury offices 200 Tuam Street, Christchurch

MEMBERSHIP:

Ashburton District Council Christchurch City Council Environment Canterbury Hurunui District Council Kāikoura District Council Mackenzie District Council Selwyn District Council Timaru District Council Waimakariri District Council Waimate District Council Councillor Peter Reveley Mayor Lianne Dalziel Councillor John Sunckell Mayor Winton Dalley Mayor Winston Gray Mayor Graham Smith Mayor Sam Broughton Mayor Damon Odey Mayor David Ayers Mayor Craig Rowley

AGENDA ORDER PAPER

CANTERBURY CIVIL DEFENCE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT GROUP JOINT COMMITTEE

9 December 2016 commencing at 11.00 am

Environment Canterbury, 200 Tuam Street, Christchurch

1.	Welcome		
2.	Apologies		
3.	Conflict of Interest		
4.	Election of Chair and Deputy Chair		
5.	Informal Meetings of the Canterbury Civil Defence Emergency Management Group and the Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG) and decisions made since the 14 November 2016 Hurunui/Kāikoura Earthquakes (report attached)		
6.	Update on 14 November 2016 Hurunui/Kāikoura earthquakes response		
7.	Consider CDEM Amendment Act 2016 to assist recovery: Briefing Local transition period New appointments 		
8.	General Business		
9.	 2017 meeting dates (12.30pm following the Canterbury Mayoral Forum): Friday 24 February Friday 26 May Friday 25 August Friday 1 December 		

AGENDA ITEM NO: 5.	SUBJECT MATTER: INFORMAL MEETINGS OF THE CANTERBURY CDEM GROUP JOINT COMMITTEE AND THE CEG & DECISIONS MADE SINCE THE 14 NOVEMBER 2016 HURUNUI/KAIKŌURA EARTHQUAKES	
REPORT TO: : Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee	DATE OF MEETING: 9 December 2016	
FILE REFERENCE:	PORTFOLIO: PROJECT:	
REPORT BY: Neville Reilly, Group Controller	ENDORSED BY: Bill Bayfield, CEG Chair	

REPORT

Although the Joint Committee continued in existence after the triennial election, its former Chair had not been re-elected and its membership was uncertain. In that situation, the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002 and the Canterbury Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan provide that:

- any available member of the Group may declare a state of emergency; and
- a declaration should be made in consultation with the mayors of the affected territorial authorities.

Accordingly a series of informal conference calls were held by the Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee and the Coordinating Executive Group (CEG) to conduct that consultation and to discuss making emergency declarations regarding the 14 November 2016 Hurunui/Kaikōura earthquakes.

These meetings, attendees and decisions that resulted are detailed in the attached table.

RECOMMENDATION

That the Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee formally ratify decisions made in the period 15-29 November 2016.

Informal meetings held by the Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee and the CEG and decisions made since the 14 November 2016 Hurunui/Kaikōura earthquakes.

DATE	Purpose of Meeting	Attendees/apologies	Decisions made
15 November 11.00- 11.30 am	CEG Informal conference call to discuss the North Canterbury earthquake declaration	Jock Muir; Steve Turek; Sheryl Major; Angela Oosthuizen; Bill Bayfield; Neville Reilly; Janelle Mackie	Preparation for declaration of group emergency in support of Hurunui and Kaikōura.
15 November 12.00- 12.30pm	Mayors on Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee Informal conference call to consider the Group Controller's recommendation to the Joint Committee to declare a group emergency in support of Hurunui and Kaikōura.	Kevin Felstead; Graham Smith; Damon Odey; Lianne Dalziel; Sam Broughton; Winton Dalley; Donna Favel; Neville Reilly; David Bedford; Bill Bayfield	All Mayors present agreed to declare a group emergency in support of Hurunui and Kaikōura. Kaikōura and Waimate were not present. Waimate was subsequently contacted and Mayor Craig Rowley supported the decision. It was agreed that Lianne Dalziel would sign the declaration on behalf of the Joint Committee. State of local emergency for Canterbury region declared at midday 15 November 2016.
21 November 4.00- 4.15pm	CEG Conference call to discuss the imminent expiry of the declaration of a state of emergency and whether the declaration should be extended.	John Price (NZ Police); Dion Rosario (St John); Karleen Edwards (CCC), David Meates (CDHB); Neville Reilly (Group Controller); Bill Bayfield and Catherine Schache (ECan)	Group gave unanimous support to the extension of the declaration for a further 7 days and the group noted and gave its approval to accepting the resignation of Sandra James as Recovery Coordinator and to appointing Baden Ewart to the role.
22 November 8.30- 8.50am	Mayors on Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee Meeting called in the absence of a formalised Joint Committee for the new Triennium. Informal skype meeting to consider the extension of the Group declaration for Canterbury in support of the North Canterbury earthquake response and Kaikōura District Council and Hurunui District Council's declarations.	Damon Odey; Lianne Dalziel; Sam Broughton; Winton Dalley; Craig Rowley; John Sunckell; Neville Reilly; Bill Bayfield. Apologies: Winston Gray; Graham Smith; Donna Favel; Gary Kircher; David Ayers.	Members present unanimously agreed to extend the declaration with Lianne Dalziel agreeing to sign the extension. The importance of stronger engagement and involvement of the Hurunui community in the operation and communications associated with the Kaikōura Emergency Access Road was stressed. State of local emergency for Canterbury region extended until midday 29 November 2016.
29 November 9.30- 9.45am	Mayors on Canterbury CDEM Group Joint Committee Meeting called in the absence of a formalised Joint Committee for the new Triennium. Informal skype meeting to consider the extension of the Group declaration for Canterbury in support of the North Canterbury earthquake response and Kaikōura District Council and Hurunui District Council's declarations.	Winton Dalley; John Sunckell; Lianne Dalziel; David Ayers; Winston Gray; Neville Reilly; Bill Bayfield Apology: Craig Rowley	Members present unanimously agreed to extend the declaration with Lianne Dalziel agreeing to sign the extension. State of local emergency for Canterbury region extended until midday 6 December 2016